I’ve got some misogynistic tendencies…

Yup, I sure do. I also try very hard to not let those prejudices affect the way that I treat fellow human beings who happen to have a different pair of chromosomes than I do.  Why? Because I am pretty convinced that there is an intrinsic value to every human being that demands respect and because I am also pretty convinced of something I refer to as “meritocracy”. I want to assess a person by their character not by circumstances that are outside their control.

I find it kind of amusing that my friend April invited me to contribute to her feminist blog, because I am not particularly well versed in feminist theory. I mean I’ve read a little bit. Bell Hooks is a notable favorite. Regardless, I am not convinced I have anything credible or substantive to add. I guess we’ll find out.

The one impression that I do have from the reading I have done in the feminist blogosphere is that there is a lot of discussion of institutions, theory, and the abstract. “Can you believe the subtle misogyny in this commerical for a washer and dryer?” The bulk of this is valid, important discussion. Though I’d like to read more about base, human interaction. The concrete changes we see happening in people’s lives.

Where do I read about that? Where do I learn to do more of that? Maybe I just haven’t taken enough initiative to read more of whats out there. Feel free to tell me that as well.

 

N

This entry was posted in Feminism, Gender. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I’ve got some misogynistic tendencies…

  1. cacophonies says:

    Feministing has well-thought-out posts and is run by a published feminist author, Jessica Valenti, and the comments section– while sometimes juvenile and knee-jerk– is full of critically-thinking people whose questions and criticisms are acknowledged.

    The “Check My What?” blog on this site’s blogroll is a good place to go to get yourself up-to-date on the privilege/oppression models and language being used on most self-identified “progressive” and/or “feminist” blogs. The language and echo-chamber vibe is annoying to me personally, but it’s a good reference for some concepts commonly used on those mainstream feminist blogs.

  2. Danny says:

    I find it kind of amusing that my friend Cacophonies invited me to contribute to her feminist blog, because I am not particularly well versed in feminist theory.
    Same here. While I do read feminist materials I find it odd that I would be asked to contribute to such a blog. For the most part I critique feminism (which is why I so much like Feminist Critics) from the male perspective but I have been invited and it would be rude to refuse.

    • cacophonies says:

      You both offer perspectives that I think would be great on this blog (also, I’m certainly not above criticizing feminists, as you may have noticed in the later days of NiceFeminist). Danny, you write about much more than just what you don’t like about feminism on your blog, and N, I’ve read your old blog and talked to you quite a bit about other lefty-topics, not just feminism. From what I’ve noticed in either your writing or in other conversations, you’re both people who default to thinking critically about things rather than believing everything you see/hear/read. The blog isn’t all about feminism, but thinking critically about any issue, and writing about it. But if you don’t feel comfortable being a contributor, by all means, don’t do it just to avoid hurting my feelings!

    • Danny says:

      The blog isn’t all about feminism, but thinking critically about any issue, and writing about it. But if you don’t feel comfortable being a contributor, by all means, don’t do it just to avoid hurting my feelings!
      Oh no you don’t you can’t get rid of me that easily! heh heh heh.

  3. kissiegrrrl says:

    While I love an echo chamber sometimes, differing perspectives are crucial to constructive analysis and progress in general. So, it’s good that you guys are around…

    Also, bell hooks doesn’t capitalize her name :)

    • N says:

      kissiegrrrl,

      Thanks both for the kind words and the information regarding bell’s spelling of her name. Has she offered some kind of public explanation for the not capatilizing her name?

      Do you contribute anywhere that I could read?

      N

    • kissiegrrrl says:

      Wikipedia: She adopted the names from her mother and grandmother. According to her, the name’s unconventional lowercasing signifies what is most important in her works: the “substance of books, not who I am.”

      I’m not currently posting anywhere, but very soon, I’ll be the fourth poster right here. I’m excited to get involved with y’all!

    • cacophonies says:

      Oops! While I told everyone you were going to start posting here soon, I failed to say what your name was :)

Comments are closed.