Disengagement.

Over the last several… weeks… months… I suppose that I am not really sure exactly how long. I have been disengaging from political and social news and discourse. My radio spends less and less time tuned into the local public radio news channel and more time on the local school district’s Jazz station. I’ve been reading more literature and less non-fiction. I’ve been getting healthier… nearly 50 pounds lighter, eating nutritiously, and riding my cool new beach cruiser bicycle.

New Bicycle

What’s the problem you ask? I don’t feel guilty about being so disengaged. But some how I feel like I should? Don’t get me wrong… I still hold the same values, in fact I’ve started doing some honest to goodness volunteering… so am I nuts? Should I be guilt stricken that I have not read the 2000 + pages of the health bill that just passed? Or that I still haven’t finished another complete feminist book since the Bell Hook’s Feminist Theory: From Margin to Center?

Where do you all find the balance between keeping your center and being engaged in the world? What ways do you asses these things in your life?

This entry was posted in Families, Friendships, Philosophy, Random. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Disengagement.

  1. Danny says:

    I’m in the midst of finding my balance (and so far it is not going favorably).

    Being one of those people that is really big on balance all the turmoil I’ve been dealing with lately has been a major pain. As for how I define balance I typically say my life is balanced when I am at the point where I don’t think things that are important to me are being pushed to the side too often.

    So now I’m about to make a big push to get balance back.

  2. D_T says:

    I don’t think you’re doing anything wrong by disengaging sometimes. My best friend started off heavy in his feminism beliefs when he became infatuated with the person who introduced him to it. He was always reading feminist books, articles, etc. These days, he’s free of that infatuation, and, although he holds the same beliefs; takes the classes; checks articles on feminist sites, he doesn’t overwhelm himself in everything-feminist-all-of-the-time. I asked him why he doesn’t care as much any more and why he spends more time (than before) looking at sites meant for entertainment instead. It bugged me; I was scared he’d lose his values and awesome way of thinking. But I understand (now) that, actually, he does still have strong values and beliefs. He does still care a lot. He just needs an emotional break sometimes.

    The world of feminism can be very overwhelming. We need to discuss; analyse; debunk; act, but some of us would become too depressed to do this if we surrounded ourselves with feminist issues every day. Feminists are human. :O Their minds need to rest sometimes; their emotions need a break from the “Arghhhh” that most of society causes. Otherwise they’ll just feel the “Arghhh” 24/7, and that wouldn’t be good for anyone. Can’t help others if our own minds are too full. Gotta keep a relatively happy one to be a happier person.

    You said yourself that you’ve started volunteering. That’s great. That helps the world more than you reading the health bill and feeling ____ over it would.

    (Not to discourage reading and analysing.)

Comments are closed.