So long, farewell, auf Wiedersehen, adieu…

My time here at ethecofem is done. My divided attention doesn’t give the discourse of progressive politick and socioeconomic justice the regard it deserves.

It was brief but interesting.  I’d like to reflect by offering one small observation. My introduction to formal Feminist thinking was Feminist Theory: From Margin to Center by Bell Hooks. A central tenant of this book was the necessity was a comprehensive social justice perspective when discussing feminist concerns. This is not an observation unique to the feminist blogosphere, but occasionally I have been taken by the lack of perspective. Did someone blog about Britney’s photoshop-less shoot or “boobquake” from their iPhone? I’d suggest that giving “air time” to Britney while the economically disadvantaged in your city or biggest nearby city have no voice may be a little misguided. I may be vilified for saying this, and so be it. I am oversimplifying and condensing a very nuanced set of ideas into a brief reflection as I head out the door. My only intention is to be constructive.

Well, thanks for the times blog readers.

N

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to So long, farewell, auf Wiedersehen, adieu…

  1. N says:

    There I go losing perspective as I criticize others for the same thing. I didn’t mean to exclude the poor from areas outside of urban areas, etc.

  2. Danny says:

    Good luck and (insert diety)speed.

  3. Pingback: What’s wrong with this blog « ethecofem

  4. Pingback: Existing in the feminist blogosphere « April Streich

  5. Pingback: Happy blogoversary, ethecofem! | ethecofem

Comments are closed.